top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureparker

january 1 _ hello

Today is the day. Meet my new baby, Fifteen At Five. If you know me well, you know that my head is an endless swirl of thought and emotion that also harbors a lot of creative energy. And it all needs a regular outlet. So I am very excited to have created this platform where those things can roam free (because you know I cannot afford to pay to upgrade this wix website). That said, it feels appropriate to start this adventure off with a simple introduction and well wishes. Hello, my name is Parker. I am twenty-four years old. I live in Portland, OR where I work as a full time Live-In Assistant for L'Arche Portland—meaning I am a friend and a caregiver in a community of people with and without intellectual disabilities. L'Arche (pronounced "larsh") communities exist all over the world, and I have been sharing life with them in various roles since the spring of 2016. I was a volunteer and an intern while studying, then graduated and moved to India to be a full-time volunteer for one year, and have since returned and found myself committed to an additional year here in Portland. As you can imagine, I have learned a lot from my time with L'Arche, and I am excited to share more in posts to follow. That is what I "do." But there is much more to who I am. I am an aspiring writer and artist. I have a boyfriend whom I met when I was nineteen. I have three plants on my windowsill and a black Pilot G-2 07 pen in every bag that I own. I run for my mental health more than my physical health. I have recently discovered an affinity for felines, namely my boyfriend's noisy and cuddly cat who has walked across my laptop three times now to remind me it is time for his food. And speaking of food, my diet consists of 45% peanut butter, 20% garlic, and, as of late, 35% truffle fries from Little Big Burger.


Anyways, there is plenty of space ahead for you to get to know me. But I hope I get to know you along the way as well! Respectful comments are always welcome. Let's build a community! And a good writer should always welcome constructive feedback right? Ok. Cheers to a new year and new projects! Let's make 2019 a good one. Keep peace and keep creating,


Parker <3


108 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page