top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureparker

farewell + hello

Updated: Apr 26, 2019

It is time to say farewell to Fifteen At Five, and hello to a new creative venture. For the past week I have been thinking and brainstorming about what needed to be my next step with this site. As each day passed, and no posts were uploaded, the stress and pressure began to build. I knew the answer, but desperately did not want to admit it. So after fighting much of my own stubbornness, I have finally let go.


I made a commitment to this project, and I did not want to give up. I was so determined to stay within the strict creative guidelines I had set for myself, that I was ignoring the negativity it was imposing on my art and writing. After 100+ days of blogging, I have come to accept that daily blog posts are not conducive to my daily life, nor my creative process. To be a daily writer, I need the time and money for it. I would enjoy the process if I were a paid writer for some larger site or organization, or even if I were tucked away in a cabin writing pieces for a novel. Maybe some day! But for now my art and writing are pulling me in a different direction. To maintain a commitment to creating regular creative content, I need a more supportive platform and process...


Say hello to @hpd_art.


This is the new, longterm home for most of my creative energy on Instagram. Throughout my time blogging, some of the best days I have had are the days I have decided to draw. I love it and it brings me so much joy. And I know my drawings aren't necessarily the kind pieces for a fine art museum. But I dont want them to be. They are doodles. They can be whimsical, detailed, or even just simple visual aids to some deeper additional prose. And I have many ideas that I am very excited to share with you. I also chose this name because my initials, HPD, have become a bit of a trademark for me in how I sign my work.


So what can you expect from this account? I will not be posting daily drawings. No no no. I don't need that sort of unhealthy pressure. But I will be posting content a couple times throughout each week that will consist mostly of ink doodles often paired with original poetry or reflection. That is the goal, and I feel encouraged because it feels incredibly attainable. Not only this, but the ink drawing and writing combo feels as though it could be transposed into a nice little book someday...


Anyways that is what is coming and where I am going. And I am excited! But to properly transition, I need to say THANK YOU. Thank you to all those who have cheered me on throughout this blogging venture. I could not have done this without the public motivation.


I have learned many lessons from this experience, and this is the last lesson. Creative work is hard work, but it should never be a chore. It takes determination and commitment, but when there is no joy in it, it is time to take a step back, listen to where your creativity is pulling you, and follow it there.

Being a young artist isn't easy. It's a frustrating and exciting journey. I see established artists, and I envy their confidence and their work. They figured it out! They have their style, their mediums, their platforms, their communities, their followings... and I just have to remind myself that they had to have attempted 10,000 other things before they really settled into their artistic identity. And those 10,000 tries assuredly remain a part of their work and who they are today.


Here's to 7845 more tries. Cheers. Keep peace and keep creating,


Parker <3




36 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page