top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureparker

march 7 _ perusing for self-care

If you know me well, you'll know that I like to frequent thrift stores and resale shops. There is something about shopping at these places that really sparks my creativity and interest—it is like a treasure hunt every time you're there! But more so I have realized that sometimes browsing around thrift stores is a form of self-care for me. And I am not talking about some kind of hipster "retail therapy." Let me explain. Today was the end of a long and busy week for me. I knew I had more work to do, but also knew I needed to clear my head before doing more work. So what did I do? I gave myself an hour or so to peruse around a couple nearby thrift stores. If I came across something absolutely fabulous I might have made a purchase, but I wasn't looking to buy anything in particular. I just wanted to walk, eavesdrop, and browse. It's like all the clutter in my head is able to take a break while I explore the clutter lining the racks and shelves in the stores. I walk slowly, pawing through old clothes, and letting my imagination create stories for that cute sweater covered in dog hair or that old baseball league shirt with armpit stains. I often browse alone, and so I catch bits of conversations or interactions happening around me that are always interesting, funny, or sweet. Today I heard things like a woman explaining to a stranger how well her dog does on car rides, and a man calling his wife to double check what size pants HE himself wears. This is my crowd. And when I finish with the clothes, I head for a stroll though the knickknacks to see what sort of beautiful, worthless, household item I might bring home for all to admire on my shelf. Sarcasm aside, I have a great time. The whole experience is even better when I actually do find some treasures, but even without these store visits are always a great way to clear my head. From the moment I walk in and double check to see if any colored tags are on sale, to the moment I return to my car and soak my hands in hand sanitizer, the whole process is one weird way I practice self-care. Try it out sometime. Keep peace and keep creating,


Parker <3





12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page