top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureparker

january 6 _ terrible sloth creatures

I just woke up a couple minutes before my alarm from a very intense dream. It was a life or death moment in the dream, and when I opened my eyes, my heart felt like it was about to pop out of my chest and make a mess of my white comforter.


I have had this dream before. Over the years I have noticed that I have reoccurring dreams. They only reoccur for a period of time in my life, but if they have been repeated, then it is easy for me to remember the details. I could actually describe to you some of the dreams I often had as a child. They are just as clear in my mind as any real life memory. Luckily, they are easy to distinguish from reality as they all include a certain level of danger and fiction.


I have dreams like this a lot. Dreams where all hell breaks loose, and I have to save the day. They often involve some level of emotional drama, sexual tension, and realistic action scenes mixed into thrilling fictional situations. I usually wake up a little sweaty with my heart beating quickly, and it takes me a couple seconds until I realize I am safe and unharmed in my bed. As long as no loved ones met their end, I like to lie there, replay the dream, and think about how I probably just dreamt up Hollywood's next big blockbuster. Then I give my brain a pat on the back for being so creative, and try to get more sleep if there is time.


For example: Here is a summary of the dream I had last night... It was set in somewhat of an alternative reality. I was my same age, but no one else or no place in the dream was familiar. I had just moved to a new city, and am working as a designer for a company. It is some sort of holiday time and I mention to my co-worker how I will be traveling home to see my family. He has no where to go for the holidays, so I offer for him to join and he comes with me. But he is not my only guest. I have become quite smitten with a new partner, and he and a close friend decide to come as well. The more the merrier I suppose. Anyways this is where things get interesting, as you can imagine.


Long story short, nondescript holiday activities ensue until suddenly there is an intense earthquake. At the time of the earthquake, I happened to be giving my guests a tour of the basement of the home, while upstairs a large family gathering was taking place. My "family" escaped the upstairs into a nearby bunker, just before the upper levels of the home collapsed, and my group became trapped in the sturdy concrete basement. After the earthquake had settled, we were about to escape through our only exit ( a set of large glass doors similar to those in the front of a supermarket), but stopped because suddenly the sky had turned dark.


Radio broadcasts informed us a thick, poisonous gas had been released from underground, and would take a few days to dissipate in our atmosphere. We had to stay indoors. Fast forward a bit and this becomes especially true when my best friend noticed two large creatures roaming through the back yard. They looked like quick-moving, bear-sized sloths with black eyes, wrinkled gray skin, jagged teeth, and a big appetite. We determined they had been released from deep underground, and could only breathe the mysterious gas now thick enough in the air outside. At this point in the dream there were a number of emotional interactions such as radio calls with my family in the bunker, and conversation among my stranded party now in seemingly imminent danger. It finally becomes necessary for me to reveal a secret, and I push a hidden switch that converts the basement into a type of secret agent head quarters. Yes. I am a secret agent. Suddenly the "coworker" I had brought home reveals he is an enemy assassin sent to kill me. We fight, and in the process I yell to my dream lover how to override the automatic lock set on the (now bullet-proof) glass doors. I wrestle my killer out of the doors at just the right moment, and lock him outside where he meets his demise at the teeth of the terrible sloth creatures.


Oh you thought it was over there? Nope. The creatures, now in a frenzy for blood, begin parading into the glass doors trying to get inside. (Sounds like a scene from I Am Legend now that I think about it.) We have to act fast because the manual lock we just used is not near as strong as the automatic lock, and it is about to break. Suddenly, the power goes out. I push my partner and best friend into a safe room/closet (just now appears in the dream) that is only big enough to save the two of them, and then run through the basement collecting different keys to manually put the stronger automatic lock back in place. Time is running out. I need one more key. I’m feeling frantic. I might not make it.


And then I wake up.


Dreams are strange.


Keep peace and keep creating,


Parker <3



39 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page