top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureparker

january 31 _ one month later

Today marks Fifteen At Five's One Month Anniversary! Woo! I can hardly believe it. This month has gone by so quickly, and I think a big reason for that is because I am spending at least an hour every day working on this blog. It has been quite a big commitment in my life. And (let me pat myself on the back for a second here) it hasn't been easy—I am really proud of myself for sticking with it! Sure some days my posts don't come out until just before midnight (like tonight), but I have kept up with this daily blog for a whole month now. And one month later it has already taught me a few things. Here are three:


1. Creative work is still work. There are some days when my energy for writing is very low. I work a full-time position and live in an intentional community—it takes a lot to give myself an additional hour or more of work every day. But I have also come to realize this is a big part of being a writer or an artist. Some days your creative work is going to feel like work, and other days your creative work is going to feel like play, but the most important thing is that you don't let yourself stop creating. Create. Create. Create. Work. Work. Work. This is what it means to take your writing or your art seriously, and open yourself up to new possibilities. 2. It doesn't have to be the most amazing content, just so long as there is content. Some days I am at a total block. I put this pressure on myself that whatever I write must be profound or perfect. I cannot have room for error, or waste precious blog space on something meaningless. And then I remind myself this is not the goal. The goal is to create daily content, and share daily content. So sometimes the best advice I give to myself is to keep it simple.


3. Be honest. It is SO incredibly difficult to tell a story or write a reflection if I cannot be totally vulnerable and honest. And this is one of the reasons I created this space. Art should never be censored, or else it would never reach its full potential. If I am going to reach my full potential, I can never censor myself.


And these are some of the things I have learned so far! A HUGE thank you to all those who have been reading on a daily basis. You have no idea just how much that means to me. Truly, it is you that keep me accountable, and keep me going!


THANK YOU! Happy 1 Month, f@f!


Keep peace and keep creating,


Parker <3





9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page