top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureparker

january 13 _ make your bed

This morning I woke up at 5am to write, and then fell back asleep and was late for my shift at 7am! I guess my body really needed the rest, but that is why I am now writing today's post at 8:30pm. Isn't oversleeping and being late one of the worst feelings? I cannot speak for everyone, but for me it hits in that short moment between being asleep and being awake. It is this feeling of pure dread that washes over my skin, and jolts me out of bed into a standing position. Only when I am standing do I actually wake up and take stock of how much time I lost. Then I will fumble around as quickly as possible throwing on the easiest outfit and pair of shoes I can find, and head out the door, skipping whatever part of my morning routine that I can afford to skip.


I really really dislike it. My mornings are not always leisurely and sacred, but I like to have my time. I have cute "good morning" texts to send my boyfriend, oh-so-stylish outfits to try on, a cozy bed to make for future-me, morning coffee to brew, and messy bedhead to get under control. And nowadays I like to have my time to write as well!


Starting my day with some self-care goes a long long way. On the days when I have given myself plenty of time to prepare (especially when I think I have found a cute outfit to wear), I am in a much more positive, relaxed, and confident mood. And on the days when I don't have any time in the mornings (like today...), it always takes a little more energy to keep me optimistic and calm. Do yourself a favor, and take care of yourself in the mornings. If we all did, the world would probably be a more positive, caffeinated, and stylish place.


Keep peace and keep creating,


Parker <3


27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page