top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureparker

january 11 _ coffee house conversations

Today I am going to challenge myself to write for fifteen minutes, and only fifteen minutes. Most days I end up writing for at least an hour, which is totally fine, but today I need some time for me.

Ready. Set. Go.


I am in one of my favorite coffee houses, Rocking Frog Cafe (shout out to my sister for opening a tab for me here for Christmas). It is an actual old house that has been converted into a coffee shop. I am sitting in my favorite chair—an extra large, well-loved, red leather arm chair that sits in the the corner of the old living room between a window and a fireplace. To my right there are vines hanging down from potted plants and eccentric books piled on a mantel that stretches above the fireplace, and to my left cars roll by on Belmont street outside the window.


There is a woman with a nose ring sitting in the chair across from me who just proudly showed me a photo of her Australian shepherd puppy. I tell her how I love puppies (making casual conversation), and how I have really been wanting a nose ring lately. (Don't tell my mom.)


A man then walked up and offered me the second half of his bagel as he wanted to save room for his lunch at a Thai restaurant happening later. I politely declined the offer, and he then proceeded to give me recommendations on Thai food in the area, tell the story of his dream last night (he was chased by giant robots—scary, but cool), and share some complaints about those ridiculous calls everyone has been getting from telemarketers. He then randomly mentioned how he might go get his nose pierced today. Strange. I shared once again how I have been wanting to get mine pierced. He invited me to join, but I told him I had to be at work soon. Wouldn't that have been an interesting and spontaneous experience? What a way to start a friendship.


There is another woman in the shop whom I have met before. She wears glasses, has mid-length, curly red hair, and a kindness about her that got us talking last time I was here. We are each usually working on our computers, and we discovered we both are building and running new websites. I will be sure to share hers with you when she is finished.


Welp. That's my fifteen minutes. Now I am going to go for a quick run. Or maybe I will sit here for a bit, and wait for someone else to come talk with me about nose rings...


Keep peace and keep creating,


Parker <3

29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page