top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureparker

february 8 _ dog years

I have been listening to Maggie Rogers's new album, Heard It In A Past Life, without end for the past week. It is gorgeous. Her voice melts poem-like lyrics into a driving dream pop vibe to create songs that are not only infectious, but also relatable and deeply compelling. I love it.


Not on the album is one of her earlier songs, "Dog Years." I cannot get enough of this one as well. It is beautiful. It slows me down in the midst of a fast paced lifestyle, normalizes the ever changing livelihood of a person in their twenties (aka me), and reminds me to embrace the relationships and love I am so lucky to have in my life. There are moments in the song when she uses strong inflection to sing the phrase, "We will be alright." This combined with the steady beat and more touching lyrics, gives me some much needed solace as I listen.


Maggie herself said this about the song in 2016:

"Dog Years is about a day I skipped class to stay in bed and make frozen pizza with a boy I loved. Dog Years is about dance parties in the kitchen. Dog Years is about chocolate milk and the Tompkins Square dog park. Dog Years is about a thank you note.

Dog Years is about change, about loving and leaving and still loving, about trusting yourself, about trusting the universe, about being a good friend and never having enough time."


Listen for yourself and see what feelings it brings up for you...

Keep peace and keep creating,


Parker <3


11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page