top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureparker

february 27 _ co-animators

Unless you know Joni well, it’s difficult for me describe exactly what it has been like to support her on Core Member Retreat. What I can tell you is that it has been all sorts of joyful, surprising, full, and tender.


At the beginning of the retreat the animators met with the “companions” (myself and others supporting our friends who experience disabilities) to remind us that this retreat is not for us. We were there to be “co-animatorss” for the Core Member we were supporting. This means we were there to help make the content of the retreat more accessible, enjoyable, and engaging for the friends we were companioning. This set a very sacred as well as collaborative tone for the week that has been so life giving to see it play out.


Attending this retreat with Joni has been such a gift. To take in the content of the retreat, especially spiritual content, and be creative in making it more accessible and engaging for Joni wasn’t always easy, but it was always a lot of fun. Joni has such a strong and unique personality. Throughout the week I’ve really appreciated her sincere awareness of emotional and sacred space, as well as her impeccably-timed sense of humor. And for the record, Joni has also been “co-animating” this retreat for me: inviting me see her perspecive; helping me to be honest; encouraging my silliness; and dancing the dance of mutuality.


Overall it has been one of the most distinct and intentional retreat experiences I have ever had. I am so thankful to have shared these days with Joni, as well as with all the leaders and other retreatants present. I feel I have learned a lot, even though this retreat wasn’t necessarily designed for me in the first place. And I also feel that Joni has been taking in a lot too, making me glad I could play my part.


Keep peace and keep creating,


Parker <3





21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page