top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureparker

february 25 _ retreat time

So today is my first day supporting the L’Arche Core Member Retreat. This retreat is specifically for Core Members (members of L’Arche with intellectual disabilities), so I am here first and foremost to support my housemate, Joni, as she attends the retreat. But of course I will be gaining a positive experience from the four days with her as well.

We are in a beautiful retreat center on the Puget Sound in Federal Way between Tacoma and Seattle, and we will be engaging in activities like prayer, reflection, art, games, quiet time, and, of course, meals with other members of L’Arche from around the U.S. and Canada. It should be a great time. My hope is to make this week as joyful and reflective for Joni as possible, and if it is for her, then hopefully it will be for myself as well. It has been a very long time since I have been on a retreat, and I feel lucky to be here supporting my friend here this week.


As far as blogs go, my hope is to share a little nugget of wisdom I take away from each day. The theme this week is “It Is Good Indeed: Creation, Community, and Me!” I might try to stick to that theme, but I might stray a bit depending on what sticks out to me in a day! For example, today I have just been so aware of how supportive community living can be. The ways my own community has supported me to accomplish certain tasks recently has been such a blessing, and I’m so thankful. And even after only sharing one evening on retreat with members of the greater L’Arche community, it is so easy to tell how living in community has shaped most of us into supportive and intentional human beings ready to work togther and commit to a common goal.


Today I am thankful for retreats, community, being able to ask for help, and being helped before I even need to ask.


Keep peace and keep creating,


Parker <3



10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page