top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureparker

february 11 _ snuggle me please

Snuggle me all day everyday please.


What is it about snuggling that is so healing? I’m not talking about romantic snuggles, just some solid, platonic nuzzling with a person, pet, or thing. (Note: If you are not a snuggler, best click away now or admit you’re a little snuggle-curious.)


Last night I drove from Portland to Seattle in the middle of a terrible snow storm. I had not seen Zack in three weeks, and today starts a nine day vacation from community for me, so I was very determined after finishing my last shift to keep the momentum going and just make the drive. I wanted to be able to wake up this morning and take it slow. So I packed up my little front-wheel drive hatchback, and started what would be a snowy, sweaty, and stressful four hour drive north. (The drive is normally about 3 hours. I guess you could say I took it slow, so I could take it slow.)


So I made it! But the drive was so difficult that I almost cried twice (I’m not dramatic, you’re dramatic), and when I walked into Zack’s apartment, one of the first things I did was ask him to hold me. I just needed to feel something warm, steady, and safe. It really helped center me.


And I think that’s why snuggling can be so healing. As I am writing this, Zack’s cat is lying asleep on my chest (see instagram post for proof). Those snuggly feelings of warmth, steadiness, and safety are here, and that have spread a gorgeous sense of calm in my body. And it makes sense. Any person, pet, or object you are snuggling with should help create heat, force you to pause, and carry some sense of familiarity and safety. If you’re snuggling with something cold, moving, or unsafe (an alien maybe?), then you’re doing it wrong.


I hope everyone does some snuggling today. Whether it’s with a friend, partner, pet, tinder match, or warm fuzzy blanket that you love, take 15 minutes to slow down and snuggle up. Feel warm, steady, and safe. And be thankful you’re not in a tiny car driving down a snowy highway at night.


Keep peace and keep creatjng,


Parker <3



14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page