top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureparker

april 5 _ a tenderness and a hardness

Right now my grandfather is experiencing his last days on this earth. He is in hospice in he and my grandmother’s home where myself and a number of my family members have gayhered together to support him, my grandmother, and each other. I was hesitant to share this on this blog, but I think that’s the point of this space—to be open, to process, to create, and to share.


The death of a loved one is such a complicated and intimate experience, so to be together with my family during this time means so much. The circumstance is challenging, but it has fostered a strong sense of love, honesty, and mutuality amogst all of us.


It is beautiful to see family members all pulling together, and bringing their own energy and gifts to the situation. All of us are needed here. Some to relieve tension. Some to give somber reminders. Some to uplift. Some to cry. Some to hold. Some to provide care. Some to plan. Some to tell stories. Some to laugh. Some to say a quick hello and goodbye. Some to cook. Some to pray. Some to sing.


My grandfather’s situation has ignited both a unique tenderness and a hardness in our hearts that seems to be rolling over and over inside everyone, sparking moments of vulnerability when needed, often followed by moments of strength. It is both strange and encouraging to witness.


Please send some love and prayers our way.


Keep peace and keep creating,


Parker <3



26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page